chessbase india logo

National A 2019 for the Blind kicks off in Nagpur

by Murthy Manjunatha - 06/01/2019

The National A for Blind 2019 has begun in Nagpur from the 5th of January 2019. It is going to be an exciting event as top four players from this 14-player round robin event, qualify for the World Championship in Italy from 5th to 15th og April 2019. The favourite is definitely five-time National Champion Kishan Gangolli, but he will be receiving stiff resistance from youngsters Aryan Joshi. Marimuthu, Soundarya Pradhan and others. Regular readers of ChessBase India will remember that the 2018 edition of the National A for blind happened because of the crowdfunding done on ChessBase India. It's a pleasant feeling to see that the 2019 edition has kicked off without any issues and is being smoothly organized. Check out the round one results.

14th National “A” Chess Championship for visually challenged 2019 started on 05/01/2019 at MLA Hostel Nagpur, Maharashtra. Top fourteen qualified players from National B Chess Championship are facing each other to be selected to (Top four players) represent the country in the forthcoming World Individual Chess Championship for the Blind and Visually Impaired 2019 to be held in Cagliari, Italy from 5th to 15th April, 2019.

Sri Manoj Itkelwar Vice President, AICF inaugurated the championships in presence of Sri Anup Deshmukh, International Master, Sri Manish Thool General secretary AICFB, Sri Swapnil Shah Treasurer AICFB. Manish Thool welcomed the gathering followed by some some enchanting and motivating speeches by other dignitaries. Vote of thanks came from Mr Swapnil Shah and the first round of the tournament started at 3 pm as per schedule. 

Participants of National A 2019

9Kishan Gangolli5049350IND2008Kar
5Aryan B Joshi35055933IND1863Mah
13Soundarya Kumar Pradhan25051822IND1819Odisha
11Kavlekar Sanjay R.5045541IND1812Goa
3Makwana Ashvin K5081912IND1747Guj
4Krishna Udupa5014875IND1697Kar
1Patra Subhendu Kumar46604634IND1686Odisha
14Patil Shirish5081904IND1673Mah
6Prachurya Kumar Pradhan25051580IND1634Odisha
10Swapanil Shah5043484IND1634Mah
2Marimuthu K45023859IND1563T N
12Waghmare Sachin Lahu5081882IND1557Mah
8Shashidhar K M25051806IND1522Kar
7Hariharan Gandhi45073791IND1448T N


Playing hall of the National A | Photo: Murthy Manjunatha

The upset of the day was surely Soundarya Kumar Pradhan losing to K. Marimuthu.

Aryan Joshi, the second seed of the tournament scored a fine win over Swapnil Shah | Photo: Murthy Manjunatha

Five-time National Champion Kishan Gangolli was held to a draw by Prachurya Pradhan | Photo: Murthy Manjunatha

Results of round one

Round 1 on 2019/01/05 at 03.00PM
111686Patra Subhendu Kumar1 - 0Patil Shirish167314
221563Marimuthu K1 - 0Soundarya Kumar Pradhan181913
331747Makwana Ashvin K1 - 0Waghmare Sachin Lahu155712
441697Krishna Udupa½ - ½Kavlekar Sanjay R.181211
551863Aryan B Joshi1 - 0Swapanil Shah163410
661634Prachurya Kumar Pradhan½ - ½Kishan Gangolli20089
771448Hariharan Gandhi0 - 1Shashidhar K M15228

About the author

Murthy Manjunatha is the chief arbiter at the National Premier 2019. He has been an arbiter at blind tournaments since many years and conducts the proceedings with great speed and accuracy and a human touch!

Related news:
National A blind 2019 Round 5-7: Subhendu Kumar Patra impresses

@ 10/01/2019 by Murthy Manjunatha (en)

Contact Us