chessbase india logo

Anustoop Biswas wins 3rd Kashmir Rating Open 2024

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/06/2024

Anustoop Biswas, IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra and FM Md. Sharif Hossain (BAN) scored 7.5/9 each at 3rd Kashmir Rating Open 2024. Anustoop won the tournament due to better tie-break score. Neeraj and Sharif secured second and third place respectively. Anustoop's sole loss of the event was against the eventual runner-up and one of the top trainers of the country, Neeraj in the final round. The total prize fund of the tournament was ₹231000. The top three prizes were ₹50000, ₹25000 and ₹15000 along with a trophy each respectively. The six-day nine-round tournament was organized by The Kashmir Chess Club, Srinagar at Indoor Sports Complex, Polo Ground in Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir from 4th to 9th May 2024. This is Anustoop's fourth tournament triumph of the year and also his first rating open triumph of his career. Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Anustoop's first rating open triumph

Anustoop Biswas had a full point lead going into the final round 7.5/8. FM Md. Sharif Hossain (BAN), Pradeep Tiwari and IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra were the three pursuers at 6.5/8 each. Anustoop lost the final round to Neeraj. The last round loss did not affect Anustoop's championship hopes. Neeraj secured second place. Sharif won against Pradeep to be placed third. Anustoop became West Bengal State Blitz 2024 champion in February. About 1.5 months later, he won the 11th Kolkata District Chess Championship 2024.

Champion - Anustoop Biswas 7.5/9
"Chess-wise 2024 has been very good for me" - Anustoop Biswas after winning 3rd Kashmir Rating Open | Video: ChessBase India

Runner-up - IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Anustoop Biswas scored 7.5/9 to win the tournament and maintained his rating

A total of 104 players including two IMs took part from various parts of the country and Bangladesh. The six-day nine round Rating Open tournament was organized by The Kashmir Chess Club, Srinagar at Indoor Sports Complex, Polo Ground in Srinagar, Jammu and Kashmir from 4th to 9th May 2024. The time control of the event was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgIClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 nKrtg+/-
Anustoop BiswasIND2276WB7,552,553,542,5007820-1,2
IMMishra Neeraj-KumarS55IND2134JH7,55155,546,75077102,6
FMMd. Sharif HossainBAN2131BAN7,550,55544,50078207,4
IMMd Minhaz UddinBAN2235BAN749,55440,7506810-5
FMSingh Arvinder PreetIND2011PB748,55238,5007820-11,4
Yashpal AroraIND1853MP74851,536,500782027
Javid Ahmed MirS55IND1624JK744,54734,50074206,8
Pradeep TiwariIND1869DASCB6,551,554,536,500682050,4
Prakash RamIND2024PB6,5495336,00068200,6
Ajay Kumar RaiIND1823DASCB6,5474932,5005720-1,8
Nadeem Hussain MirIND1522JK6,53942,529,000554058
FMAhmed Sheikh NasirBAN2130BAN6515433,2504820-19,8
Siva Adithyan SU14IND1734TN64650,530,5005840-1,6
Ansh KabraU08IND1504UP6465028,000644025,2
Himanshu MoudgilIND1697DASCB645,55030,5005620-9,6


Related news:
Savreen Kaur wins AICF Smart Girls Rating Tournament 2024 Jammu

@ 09/07/2024 by Shahid Ahmed (en)
Two-day beginners' chess camp held at Jammu

@ 31/01/2021 by Atul Kumar Gupta (en)

Contact Us