chessbase india logo

Adam Tukhaev and Hesham Abdelrahman lead the IIFL WEALTH GM Open

by Satanick Mukhuty - 04/01/2020

The IIFL WEALTH International Chess Tournament is taking place from the 30th of December 2019 to 7th of January 2020 at the Cuffe Parade-colaba in Mumbai. The open event this year has attracted more than 150 players from as many as 23 different countries including 25 Grandmasters and 28 International Masters. Abhijeet Gupta, Vaibhav Suri, Abhimanyu Puranik, Sandipan Chanda are some of the big names competing from India; while Aleksej Aleksandrov, Yakubboev Nodirbek, Alexei Fedorov, and Adam Tukhaev are among the prominent foreigners vying for the championship title. Five rounds of the tournament are already over and in this pictorial article we bring you the highlights of the latest happenings.

The EKA IIFL Investment Managers 5th Mumbai International Grandmasters Chess Tournament is a nine-round Swiss event following a time control of 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game plus a 30 seconds increment from move 1. The eye-catching prize fund of rupees 17 lakh in the open section this year has attracted several strong players from the country and abroad.

The venue is the World Trade Center in Cuffe Parade, Mumbai which goes perfectly with the high stature of the event | Photo: Supriya Bhat

While the posh and spacious playing hall too is a joy to be in | Photo: Supriya Bhat

The tournament is already halfway through and has found leaders in Adam Tukhaev of Ukraine and Hesham Abdelrahman of Egypt both of whom have scored 4.5/5 points each. Abhijeet Gupta and Vaibhav Suri of India who started off as the first and second seed respectively were both surprisingly held to draws in the opening round itself and therefore they are trailing behind with 4.0/5 each.

Top seeded Abhijeet Gupta couldn't kick off the ideal start as he was held to draws in both rounds one and two of the event. However, the 2611-rated Grandmaster did come around and registered victories in the last three encounters in a row | Photo: Supriya Bhat 

Abhijeet pushed very hard in both the first and second round games against his opponents Saurabh Anand and Vatsal Singhania respectively but fell short of cracking their defenses. Particularly in the second round encounter he found a clear winning opportunity against Vatsal, who critically blundered on move 55 in a complex knight ending, but still failed to convert the full point.

Vaibhav Suri too was held to a draw by the 14-year-old talent Pranav V in the very first round. Vaibhav is now on 4.0/5 and will be facing Hesham Abdelrahman, who is one of the leaders, in round six | Photo: Supriya Bhat

Adam Tukhaev is one of the leaders in the event with a score of 4.5/5 points. He registered an emphatic victory in round five against Stanislav Bogdanovich, who was the sole leader in the event after four rounds | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Adam clinched an edge against Bogdanovich early on in the encounter playing the white pieces but took an erroneous decision on move 27 by giving up his queen for a rook and two minor pieces. This brought back the balance in the position but Adam managed to outplay his opponent even from here and won the game.

Hesham Abdelrahman beat Deepan Chakkravarthy of India in the fifth round to join Adam Tukhaev on the lead | Photo:

Results of round five

Bo.No. NameFEDRtgPts.ResultPts.NameFEDRtg No.
GMTukhaev AdamUKR25521 - 04GMBogdanovich StanislavUKR2562
GMHesham AbdelrahmanEGY24161 - 0GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND2535
IMDas SayantanIND2440½ - ½GMYudin SergeiRUS2497
GMCzebe AttilaHUN2374½ - ½IMTaher Yoseph TheolifusINA2469
IMMendonca Leon LukeIND2398½ - ½GMMirzoev AzerAZE2457
GMStupak KirillBLR252931 - 0FMPranesh MIND2317
IMNeelash SahaIND235630 - 13GMGupta AbhijeetIND2611
IMKulkarni VikramadityaIND232830 - 13GMVaibhav SuriIND2597
IMGholami AryanIRI25413½ - ½3IMMuthaiah AlIND2363
IMNigmatov OrtikUZB247430 - 13IMNitin S.IND2329

Standings after five rounds

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
GMTukhaev AdamUKR25524,50,011,513,012,004
GMHesham AbdelrahmanEGY24164,50,011,013,011,754
IMTaher Yoseph TheolifusINA24694,00,014,016,512,503
GMBogdanovich StanislavUKR25624,00,014,016,011,504
GMYudin SergeiRUS24974,00,013,015,011,253
IMDas SayantanIND24404,00,013,015,011,253
IMMohammad Fahad RahmanBAN22944,00,012,513,510,004
GMCzebe AttilaHUN23744,00,012,014,010,253
GMVaibhav SuriIND25974,00,012,013,510,753
IMMendonca Leon LukeIND23984,00,012,013,59,503

Complete results and standings

Related news:
Sandipan Chanda wins EKA IIFL wealth GM Open 2019-20

@ 08/01/2020 by Satanick Mukhuty (en)