chessbase india logo

N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open is back after four years

by Shahid Ahmed - 01/10/2022

1st Bikaner GM Open is starting today. Rajasthan is going to host another strong rating open tournament in a week from 8th October 2022. The seventh edition of N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open will take place at Orbit Resort, Udaipur. This is one of the longest running Open Rating tournaments in the state. The first edition took place back in 2009. This edition offers a prize fund of ₹1501000. Total number of prizes are 173. There are three prizes worth ₹1 lac and more. Apart from that, there are five prizes worth over ₹50000. So far 309 players have registered from various parts of the country. Hurry up and register if you have not already. Photo: Tournament Circular/Chess in Lakecity

One of the longest running Rating Open tournament in Udaipur, Rajasthan

The first edition of N L Pandiyar Memorial took place back in 2009. The second and third edition was held in the following years 2010 and 2011. After a gap of five years, the next three editions happened between 2016 and 2018. There was a GM tournament in 2019. Thus, after a gap of almost four years, N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open tournament is back, starting next week 8th October 2022.

Championship history

The tournament is being organized in Udaipur, Rajasthan since 2009. The winner of the first edition, IM Sriram Jha went on to become a Grandmaster in the following year. Vignesh N R won the third edition when he was just 13-years-old. He became an International Master in 2015. Only the second and third edition were rating restricted events. From 2016 onwards, it once again became an Open tournament. Fourth to sixth edition took place consecutively between 2016 and 2018.

FA NI Vikas Sahu giving a memento to GM Vidit Gujrathi, Chief Guest of the 6th N L Pandiyar Memorial Rating Open 2018 | Photo: Chess in Lakecity

Who will win the 7th edition? | Source: Tournament Circular


Every day there is double round from 8th to 11th October 2022. Only the last round on 12th October 2022 is a single round.


The tournament has a total prize fund of ₹1501000. The total number of prizes are 173. There are three prizes worth ₹1 lac and more. Apart from that there are five more prizes worth more than ₹50000. Two different rating categories have a combined total of 35 prizes which is besides the 35 main prizes. That's not all, there are ten prizes each for Veteran (Above 60) and Unrated players. Best Female, Best Rajasthan, Best lakecity and Best Physically Challenge have two prizes each. Six age group categories, starting from Under-5 to Under-15 have ten prizes for top ten in each category.

Entry and Eligibility

The tournament is open to all AICF registered players of the country. Check the table below for entry fee details:

How to Register

Players can only register by filling up the form here. For more details, please visit our calendar.

Starting list

1IMChakravarthi Reddy M25671202125009532IND2301Telangana
2FMThakur Akash1680320215008514IND2235Maharashtra
3WFMPotluri Supreetha53408202125053094IND1872wAndra pradesh
4Choudhary Jitendra Kumar11813720225003024IND1828Delhi
5Raju S71020215043735IND1828Tamilnadu
6Kherdekar Arnav8849202146646345IND1817Maharashtra
7Dinesh Kumar Jaganathan13447202146683526IND1811Tamilnadu
8Parekh Vishrut32381202125641190IND1801Gujarat
9Chaturvedi Narendranath8190520215023394IND1798S60Madhya Pradesh
10Prithvvi Singh51947202125924397IND1796Uttar Pradesh
11Vishwanath Prasad2055520215030170IND1782Telangana
12Chudasama Ankit84848202145059144IND1780Gujarat
13Mhamane Sourabh46849202125778463IND1771Maharashtra
14Roneet Das16280202125097121IND1751Maharashtra
15Mohan Naithani1260520215027152IND1744S60Uttarakhand
16Tuhin Kashyap133653202246612637IND1726Assam
17Srinivasa Rao G.V.1270720215000602IND1704S60Andhra Pradesh
18Sarvade Mihiir34374202125661841IND1701Maharashtra
19Anubhav Rawat67421202125154060IND1689U15Delhi
20Kishore Kumar Jaganathan13475202146683801IND1686Tamilnadu



Official site