chessbase india logo

Gukesh and Arjun Erigaisi set to face Gelfand, Svidler and world's best at 28th TePe Sigeman & Co 2023

by Shahid Ahmed - 04/05/2023

The Limhamn Chess Club is organizing the 28th edition of one of the most prestigious events of the world, TePe Sigeman & Co Tournament 2023. This year also the organizers have put together a great mix legendary players along with the present generation of world-class talents. This year two Indians - D Gukesh and Arjun Erigaisi will battle against a very exciting line up of - Vincent Keymer (GER), Jorden van Foreest (NED), Peter Svidler, Boris Gelfand (ISR), Nils Grandelius (SWE) and Abhimanyu Mishra (USA). The only other time two Indians took part in this tournament was in 2019. K Sasikiran and Vidit Gujrathi are the only two Indians to have ever won this event. Will we see another Indian winning this event? Round 1 starts today at 3 p.m. local time, 6:30 p.m. IST. Photo: David Llada

Gukesh, Svidler and Mishra make their debut

The organizers always manage to put an exciting line-up. Swedish GM Stellan Brynell and the reigning Netherlands champion, GM Erwin l’Ami will reprise their roles as the official commentators. It is also possible to visit Elite Plaza Hotel in Malmo, Sweden to watch the action live in-person. The tournament is eligible for the FIDE Circuit (Qualification path for the FIDE Candidates Tournament 2024).

The legend and the young generation of future legends | Photo: David Llada/TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Players and Crosstable

The FIDE World Cup 2009 and the winner of 1999 edition, Boris Gelfand got the top seed at the Draw of Lots. Peter Svidler will be making his return to Classical and rated games for the first time since November 2021. They will be joined by the winner of 2021 edition, Jorden van Foreest, Germany no.1 Vincent Keymer, Sweden no.1 and the winner of 2013, 2017 and 2018 editions, GM Nils Grandelius, World no.18 and India no.2, D Gukesh, World's youngest Grandmaster Abhimanyu Mishra and World no.37 and India no.5, Arjun Erigaisi.

Starting List of players according to Draw of Lots | Photo: David Llada/Tepe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Photo Gallery

GM Arjun Erigaisi with Joel Eklund, Chairman of the international oral health company TePe, sponsor of the event | Photo: David Llada/TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Germany no.1 Vincent Keymer with Joel Eklund who is a strong player himself having the rating of 2252, acted as a host during the opening ceremony | Photo: David Llada/TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Is the Sweden no.1 GM Nils Grandelius, aiming for his fourth triumph of the event? | Photo: David Llada/TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Opening Ceremony | Photo: David Llada/TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Organizing team | Photo: David Llada/TePe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament

Time Control

90 minutes for 40 moves and then 30 minutes for the remaining moves with 30 seconds cumulative increment for each move starting from the first move (Malmö rules - no draws before move 40).


If the top two or more players score the same number of points in the tournament, a tiebreak to determine the tournament winner will be played. All players with this highest score will participate in the tiebreak games. Irrespective of the outcome, the prize money will be divided equally among all the players in the tiebreak. Read the full tiebreak rules here.

Round 1 pairings

Bo.No.Rtg NameResultName RtgNo.
GMGelfand, BorisGMErigaisi, Arjun
GMSvidler, PeterGMMishra, Abhimanyu
GMVan Foreest, JordenGMGukesh, D
GMKeymer, VincentGMGrandelius, Nils

Complete pairings


4th - 9th May - 3 p.m. CET (6:30 p.m. IST), 10th May - 12 p.m. CET (3:30 p.m. IST).


Official site

Tournament details

Contact Us