chessbase india logo

Live from Shamkir: Last round against Safarli

by ChessBase India - 04/06/2016

A super elite tournament has begun in Shamkir, Azerbaijan from the 26th of May. Indian interest is sparked by the participation of Pentala Harikrishna who will cross swords against wolrd class players like Caruana, Giri, Karjakin, Mamedyarov and others. We have set up a live game page for you to enjoy Hari's game with the help of live book, strong engine, let's check and other functionalities. Round begins at 4.30 p.m. IST. 

Shamkir Live: Last round against Safarli

The Vugar Gashimov Memorial is being held in Shamkir, Azerbaijan, from the May 26 to June 4, 2016, in memory of the great Vugar Gashimov, who passed away on the 10th of January 2014. The tournament features ten world-class players:

Fabiano Caruana (2795), Anish Giri (2790), Sergey Karjakin (2779), Pavel Eljanov (2750), Pentala Harikrishna (2763), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (2750), Teimour Radjabov (2726), Eltaj Safarli (2664), Hou Yifan (2663) and Rauf Mamedov (2650). The time control is 120/40 moves + 60/20 moves + 15 minutes + 30 seconds/move at 61st move.


After quite a successful show at the Norway Chess 2016 where he beat Anish Giri and Li Chao, India number two, Pentala Harikrishna is back in action at the Shamkir 2016. And this time, he is seeded in the upper half (fourth seed) of the event.

Number seven means Hari will have five blacks and four whites in the event
Harikrishna will face Eltaj Safarli in the ninth and final round on 4th of June 2016.

Standings after seven rounds

Live game begins at 4.30 p.m. IST

Live games will begin at 4.30 p.m. IST. Until then you can playover the moves of the previous round.

Live commentary on Playchess

Date Round English German
26.5.2016 Round 1 Daniel King Klaus Bischoff
27.5.2016 Round 2 Simon Williams Klaus Bischoff
28.5.2016 Round 3 Simon Williams Klaus Bischoff
29.5.2016 Round 4 Daniel King Klaus Bischoff
30.5.2016 Round 5 Yasser Seirawan Klaus Bischoff
01.6.2016 Round 6 Daniel King Klaus Bischoff
02.6.2016 Round 7 Simon Williams Klaus Bischoff
03.6.2016 Round 8 Yasser Seirawan Klaus Bischoff
04.6.2016 Round 9 Daniel King Klaus Bischoff

All the ChessBase Account Premium users can enjoy the live commentary for free on PlayChess in the broadcasts room.

All you have to do is download the free playchess client for windows. Once you install it log in with your username and password.

Click on the broadcasts on the lower right-hand corner to enter the broadcast room and then click on games at the top. At 4.30 p.m. IST, the live commentary begins.

If you are not a ChessBase Account premium member, you can become one for just Rs. 1499/- for an entire year. In addition to this commentary you can enjoy a host of other features.

Official tournament website

Contact Us