chessbase india logo

Sina Movahed triumphs at Baku Open 2024, Abhimanyu Puranik second and Aditya Mittal third

by Shahid Ahmed - 09/07/2024

Four players - IM Sina Movahed (IRI), GM Abhimanyu Puranik, GM Aditya Mittal and GM S L Narayanan scored 7/9 each at Baku Open 2024 Group A. Sina won the tournament due to better tie-break score. Abhimanyu, Aditya and Narayanan secured second, third and fourth place respectively. Abhimanyu's sole loss of the event was against the eventual champion, Sina. Aditya remained undefeated. Top seed of the tournament, Narayanan started with a loss. Then he won six games in-a-row including a win over the champion, Sina in Round 7. IM Ilamparthi A R and GM Shyam Sundar M scored 6.5/9 each. They were placed eighth and ninth respectively. The total prize fund of the tournament was US$ 50000. The top three prizes were $12000 + Cup, $8000 and $6000 each. Photo: Azerbaijan Chess Federation

Indians claim five out of top ten

Top seed GM S L Narayanan did not have the best start. However, he made great recovery. The next best thing to winning the tournament is beating the eventual champion. He was the only player to beat IM Sina Movahed (IRI) in the tournament.

Top 3 (L to R): 2nd GM Abhimaynu Puranik 7/9, 1st IM Sina Movahed (IRI) 7/9 and 3rd GM Aditya Mittal 7/9 | Photo: Azerbaijan Chess Federation

GM Abhimanyu Puranik suffered his sole loss against the eventual champion, IM Sina Movahed (IRI). He gained 7.4 Elo rating points | Photo: Azerbaijan Chess Federation

GM Aditya Mittal scored an unbeaten 7/9, finished third on tie-breaks and crossed 2600 again

Top seed GM S L Narayanan made a good recovery after a first round loss, won the next six games in-a-row, scored 7/9 to finish fourth | Photo: Azerbaijan Chess Federation
Replay Round 9 Live Commentary | Video: Azerbaijan Chess Federation
Closing Ceremony | Video: Azerbaijan Chess Federation

A total of 122 players including 16 GMs, 26 IMs and 6 WIMs took part from eight countries across the world in Group A. The nine-day nine-round Swiss League tournament was organized by the Ministry of Youth & Sport of the Republic of Azerbaijan and Azerbaijan Chess Federation from 29th June to 7th July 2024 at Baku Sport Hall in Baku, Azerbaijan. The time control of the tournament was 90 minutes + 30 seconds increment from move no.1.

Replay all available Group A games

Final standings

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
IMMovahed, SinaU14IRI2482702477651
GMPuranik, AbhimanyuIND2632702472650
GMAditya, MittalU18IND2595702430550
GMNarayanan, S LIND2668702384650,5
GMAsadli, VugarAZE25606,502380546
IMSamadov, ReadU18AZE25036,502379545,5
IMShuvalova, PolinawFID24676,502349544,5
IMIlamparthi, A RU16IND24466,502348546,5
GMShyam, Sundar M.IND24936,502310544,5
IMAssaubayeva, BibisaraU20wKAZ24726,502310449
GMMamedov, RaufAZE2651602439451
GMSuleymanli, AydinU20AZE2626602429449,5
GMAhmadzada, AhmadU20AZE2481602427549
GMAbasov, NijatAZE2621602393446,5
IMManafov, VugarU20AZE2430602391448
IMStribuk, ArtiomU18FID2422602375547
GMPranav, VU18IND2632602354448
FMTalibov, ShiroghlanU18AZE2361602345546,5
FMNovozhilov, SemenU14FID2288602311640
IMAradhya, GargIND2418602207441



Official site

Tournament regulations

Contact Us