chessbase india logo

Rupali Bank Krira Parisad dominates Walton 1st Division Chess League 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 10/03/2021

Long before players started flocking to European countries like Spain, Hungary and Serbia, Indian players were travelling to Bangladesh for the very same reason. Majority of the players travelled from Kolkata, West Bengal because it's nearer and travel time is about 30-35 mins from Kolkata to Dhaka airport. Eight Indian players went to play Walton 1st Division Chess League and all of them had a great event. Rupali Bank Krira Parisad won the event where IM Neelash Saha played a key role in the team's success. Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

The unbeaten champion

Walton 1st Division Chess League commenced from 25th February 2021. A total of eight Indian players participated in that event. All of them had a successful event as the average rating gain of each player is about 70 points. IM Neelash Saha was the sole International Master taking part in the event. He played a key role in Rupali Bank Krira Parisad's success as the team scored an unbeaten 21.0/22 and Neelash scored a mammoth 10.5/11.

Rupali Bank Krira Parisad en route their 3.5-0.5 victory over Manha's Castle in the penultimate round | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Rupali Bank Krira Parisad's team performance

1. Rupali Bank Krira Parisad (RtgAvg:2215, Captain: Saiful Islam Chowdhury / TB1: 21 / TB2: 35,5)
1IMNeelash Saha24132413IND5094160111111111½+10,51119482418109,59,000,50105,0
2Arpan Das21102110IND50072081½10111111½9,011195422161197,611,392027,8
3CMSaiful Islam Chowdhury21832183BAN102080381½11111½01½8,51119402151118,58,62-0,1220-2,4
4Ahmed Shafiq21532153BAN1020156401111011½17,51018812074107,57,93-0,4320-8,6
5Md. Nurul Islam19051905BAN1021867000,0120130100,35-0,3520-7,0

IM Neelash Saha was the spearhead of the team and the only IM of the entire tournament. He scored an unbeaten 10.5/11. He started the event with a fantastic win over Mohammed Salim in Round 1.

Neelash - Salim, Round 1

Position after 29...Kh8

Black's position was already lost. 29...Kh8 only invited more trouble.

IM Neelash Saha also won the best board prize for Board no.1 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Replay all games of Neelash Saha

Board Prize winners

Three out of six board prize winners (1, 2 and 4) were won by Indian players.


Board #1 - IM Neelash Saha 10.5/11

Board #2 - Sourath Biswas 7.5/8

Board #3 - CM Saiful Islam Chowdhury 8.5/11

Board #4 - Arya Bhakta 9.5/11

Reserve #1 - Bappi A B 4.5/7

Reserve #2 - Shazzad Kishor 1.5/9

Rating gain of Indian players

Highest gain - Arya Bhakta 127 and average gain is 70 which speaks volumes for the eight players

Photo Gallery

Executive Director and Head of Games & Welfare FM Iqbal Bin Anowar Dawn made the inaugural move | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

FM Iqbal Bin Anowar Dawn, Executive Director and Head of Games & Welfare of Walton Group inaugurated the event as a Chief Guest. Syed Shahab Uddin Shamim, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation and President, Zone 3.2 presided over the ceremony. Masudur Rahman Mallick, Joint Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation, Secretary Chess League Committee, International Arbiter Md. Haroon Or Rashid, Mehrab Hossain Asif, Official of the Walton Group delivered the speech in the ceremony.

Champion - Rupali Bank Krira Parisad 21.0/22 won Tk 50000 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Runner-up - Manha's Castle 19.0/22 received Tk 30000 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

Second Runner-up - Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar 18.0/22 got Tk 20000 | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

The tournament hall | Photo: Bangladesh Chess Federation

The tournament was held in Dhaka, Bangladesh from 25th February to 7th March 2021, organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation and sponsored by Walton Group. A total of twelve teams comprising of over 70 players participated in this 11-round Swiss League team championship from India and Bangladesh.

Replay all games of the event

Final Standings

Rk.SNo TeamGames  +   =   -  TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4 
Rupali Bank Krira Parisad1110102135,50218,3
Manha's Castle119111931,50189,0
Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar119021830,00167,0
Dhaka Chess Club114341123,5094,5
Esoft Erena Chess Club114341121,0096,3
Khelghar Daba Sangah, Gopalganj113441020,5092,8
Agrani Bank Daba Dal113441019,5086,5
Mir Chess Club11335920,5083,3
Basir Memorial Chess Club11407818,5064,0
Kasparov Chess Club11245816,0075,0
Morning Glory Chess Club, Kushtia11227618,5050,3
Dhaka Knight's Chess Club11011019,0010,3



Bangladesh Chess Federation