chessbase india logo

With three rounds to go, a tense finale awaits at National Sub-Junior 2017

by Niklesh Jain - 08/10/2017

The National Sub Juniors (under-15) is currently in progress at the Rajpath club, Ahmedabad. After eight rounds in the girls section we had Sanskriti Goyal who is leading with a score of 7.0/8, while in the open section it is Koustav Chatterjee. It seemed as if Sanskriti would run away with the tournament with a 7.0/7 start, but Nityata Jain managed to stop her. In both the sections we have a host of players just half a point away from the leaders with 6.5/8, which ensures that the final three rounds will be extremely tense. Report by Niklesh Jain and pictures by Ankit Dalal.

At the Rajpath club in Ahmedabad a total of 108 girls are taking part in the under-15 girls nationals


Nityata Jain (black) was able to get the better of Sanskriti Goyal 

Sanskriti Goyal has been in great form in the under-15 nationals as she has notched up one win after another, scoring 7.0/7. In the eighth round, she met her match in the form of Nityata Jain from Madhya Pradesh, who showed excellent understanding in the Nimzo Indian and was able to win the game.

Because of Nityata's win the tournament is now wide open and the one who will showcase better chess, will emerge as the winner in the last three rounds!

Sanskriti Goyal is still in the sole lead by half point and will play Aashna Makhija in the ninth round

Nityata Jain - the girl who ensured that the tournament was not just a one way stream by beating Sanskriti Goyal

After losing to Sanskriti, India's golden girl Divya Deshmukh has made a strong comeback and is on 6.5/8 now

Samridhaa Ghosh, who is on 6.5/8, will play against Nityata Jain in the ninth round

The girl who has won a lot of medals for India at national and international level Saina Salonika will play against Divya Deshmukh

Ninth round at 14.00 hours 

11Makhija Aashna213767Sanskriti Goyal181910
22WFMDivya Deshmukh2051WFMSalonika Saina20413
38Jain Nityata1842Ghosh Samriddhaa19845
47WFMLakshmi C190766WFMTanishka Kotia157524
525Garima Gaurav157466WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya181011
627Sudipa Haldar156066Rajashree Rajeev167617
74Shanya Mishra2000Kaur Palkin179113
821Bhagyashree Patil1619Tejasvi M18239
912Srimathi R17995Mishra Riya154329
1014Eesha Ajay Sarda174755Madhani Shilpee149937

Rank after Round 8

Rk.SNoNameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
110Sanskriti GoyalIND1819UP7,00,039,543,5
22WFMDivya DeshmukhIND2051MAH6,50,042,547,0
38Jain NityataIND1842MP6,50,039,543,5
43WFMSalonika SainaIND2041ORI6,50,039,042,0
55Ghosh SamriddhaaIND1984WES6,50,037,540,5
624WFMTanishka KotiaIND1575HAR6,00,034,038,0
717Rajashree RajeevIND1676KER6,00,034,037,5
811WFMBommini Mounika AkshayaIND1810AP6,00,033,036,5
97WFMLakshmi CIND1907TN6,00,032,536,0
101Makhija AashnaIND2137MAH6,00,031,535,0

Under- 15 Open section

The boys section witnesses the participation of 176 players!


Koustav Chatterjee beat his state mate Neelash Saha in the eighth round and going into the ninth round has the sole lead

Arjun Ergiasi and Aronyak Ghosh played out a draw and with 6.5/8 both are on second position

Arjun Ergiasi won the silver medal at the recently concluded World Youth under-14 in Montevideo Uruguay

Top seed P. Iniyan, who was clearly a favourite to win this tournament, is on 6.0/8 with three rounds to go

Round 9 at 14.00 hours 

18Moksh Amit Doshi22227Koustav Chatterjee22227
29CMKushagra Mohan2215FMErigaisi Arjun23542
310CMAronyak Ghosh2185Raahul V S215312
419Neelash Saha201266IMIniyan P24611
530Saksham Rautela187766Saurabh Anand22883
65Sankalp Gupta224466Rahul S207913
76CMRaja Rithvik R223766Banerjee Ashutosh180241
844Manish Anto Cristiano F178966Dileep Kumar R218211
94Anuj Shrivatri2244Shyam Prasad Reddy K185335
1028Dhanush Ragav1884Mehta Naitik R203917

Rank after Round 8

Rk.SNoNameTypFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
17Koustav ChatterjeeU15IND2222WES7,00,038,542,5
22FMErigaisi ArjunU15IND2354TEL6,50,040,043,5
38Moksh Amit DoshiU15IND2222GUJ6,50,039,043,0
410CMAronyak GhoshU15IND2185WES6,50,037,041,0
512Raahul V SU15IND2153TN6,50,036,040,0
69CMKushagra MohanU15IND2215TEL6,50,031,534,0
71IMIniyan PU15IND2461TN6,00,041,045,5
86CMRaja Rithvik RU15IND2237TEL6,00,040,544,0
919Neelash SahaU15IND2012WES6,00,039,544,0
1013Rahul SU15IND2079TN6,00,038,041,5

All the pictures in this report have been sent by Ankit Dalal, who is an extremely important part of the ChessBase India family

Contact Us