chessbase india logo

Telangana and Maharashtra dominate National School 2019

by Vasanth B H - 18/04/2019

National School championship takes place every year in six different age group categories. This time it took place in Raipur, Chattisgarh from 3rd-7th April 2019. Total 926 players participated from 23 different states and 2 union territories across the country. While Telangana won the maximum number of podium finishes (6) in the entire tournament, Maharashtra won the maximum number of categories - 2. The tournament was inaugurated by R P Dubey, Chancellor of Dr CV Raman University and the Chief Guest of Prize Distribution Ceremony was D V Sundar, Honorary Vice President of FIDE. Ayush Sharma of Madhya Pradesh was the highest rated player in the entire event having the rating of 2051. Photos: Vasanth B H

The biggest National for school children

The championship was inaugurated by Dr R P Dubey, Chancellor, Dr C V Raman University, Chattisgarh. Mr Mukesh Singhaniya, President, Chattisgarh Pradesh Chess Association, Mr Chandrashekhar Iyer, Secretary, Chattisgarh Pradesh Chess Association, Shri Vivek Singhal, President, Raipur District Chess Association, Mr Peri Chandrashekhar, Tournament Director, Mr PN Rao, Convener, CPCA were the other dignitaries on the dais.

Inaugural move is being made | Photo: Vasanth BH

Under-7 Open

With a performance rating of 1843 and his opponents average score being 6.0+, Akhil definitely played some fantastic chess and has miles to go

6-year old Akhil Prasad, who is the current Andhra Pradesh under-7 state champion, made a perfect score of 9.0/9 to become National under-7 school champion in open category.

Under-7 open complete standings


Under-7 Girls

Aishwarya scored unbeaten 8.0/9 and increased her rating by 25 ELO points

Starting out as the second seed, Aishwarya Sahoo of Odisha made her maiden mark at National School by winning the under-7 girls category. This is her first championship victory in her chess career.

Under-7 girls complete standings


Under-9 Open

Sawalakhe Jay of Maharashtra delivered a fantastic performance to win National School under-9 open

Sawalakhe won the tournament in the penultimate round as he scored eight straight wins, resulting in a 1.5 point lead heading into the final round which means he became a champion with a round to spare as he took an unassailable lead. This was Sawalakhe's maiden triumph in National level. He secured third position in Nagpur district under-9 open days before starting for this tournament.

Under-9 open complete standings


Under-9 Girls

Tripura's Golden Girl strikes her maiden Gold at National School | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Starting out as the top seed, Arshiya Das maintained her composure and won the tournament emphatically by scoring 8.5/9

Reigning State under-9 girls champion, Arshiya Das of Tripura struck her maiden Gold at National School by scoring 8.5/9 with a performance rating of 1500.

Under-9 girls complete standings


Under-11 Open

Md. Imran from Andhra Pradesh won his first Gold in National School by scoring 8.0/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Imran won a Gold scoring 8.0/9 and with a performance rating of 1766, he increased his ELO Rating by a perfect 100 points

Md Imran of Andhra Pradesh won a below 1500 rating tournament last year. Since then this is his first major triumph in National School. Winning a Gold in under-11 open category at the age of 9 years is certainly an amazing feat.

Under-11 open complete standings


Under-11 Girls

10-year old Yashita Rout scored 7.5/11 to become champion in National School under-11 girls

Yashita Rout is the current runner-up in Odisha State Women's. She scored 7.5/9, remained undefeated to win Gold in under-11 girls category.

Under-11 girls complete standings


Under-13 Open

Top seed Aaditya Dhingra scored 8.0/9, remained undefeated and won Gold in under-13 open

Top seed in his category, Aaditya Dhingra of Haryana scored 8.0/9 to become a champion. He took a full point heading into the final round and needed just a draw in the last round to become champion. Just days after winning National under-13 open, he won Haryana State under-13 boys.

Under-13 open complete standings


Under-13 Girls

Tanisha Boramanikar scored 7.5/9 to win under-13 girls category

Despite suffering a loss in the penultimate round, Tanisha Boramanikar of Maharashtra did not let her spirits down. After winning Gold in National School under-13 girls, Tanisha went back to play Maharashtra State under-13 girls and finished at 2nd position.

Under-13 girls complete standings


Under-15 Open

Kartavya Anandkat scored 7.0/9, remained unbeaten to win under-15 open category | Photo: Ankit Dalal

Kartavya's Championship winning performance

Reigning Gujarat State under-17 and under-19 boys champion, Kartavya Anadkat delivered an unbeaten performance, scoring 7.0/9 to win under-15 open category.

Under-15 open complete standings


Under-15 Girls

Sathwika N receives her prize from D V Sundar | Photo: Vasanth B H

Sathwika N of Andhra Pradesh scored 7.5/9, remained undefeated to win under-15 girls

Sathwika N of Andhra Pradesh scored 7.5/9 with a performance rating of 1637, increased her rating by 92 ELO points, remained unbeaten to clinch Gold in under-15 girls.

U-15 girls complete standings


Under-17 Open

Yutesh receives his championship trophy, gift and a certificate from D V Sundar and Ravindra Dongre | Photo: Vasanth B H

Yutesh scored 7.0/9 steadily, remained undefeated and won under-17 open category

This is Yutesh P's first major triumph in a long time. After finishing 2nd in Tiruvallur district under-17 open just over a month, Tamil Nadu's Yutesh continued his momentum and delivered a champion's performance at National School under-17 open.

U-17 open complete standings


Under-17 Girls

Diya Chowdhury finally became a champion after coming close to various championships multiple times | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Diya Chowdhury scored 6.0/7, remained undefeated to become under-17 girls champion

Diya Chowdhury of West Bengal is the current runner-up in State Junior. Despite starting out as the top seed, she went on to score 6.0/7 to become unbeaten champion in under-17 girls category.

Under-17 girls complete standings


Photo Gallery:

Monish P of Andhra Pradesh receives prize for the youngest player in the open category | Photo: Vasanth B H

The tournament hall | Photo: Vasanth B H

All arbiters of the tournament | Photo: Vasanth B H

The beautiful trophies which were up for grabs | Photo: Vasanth B H

Under-7 girls in action | Photo: Vasanth B H

Under-7 girl after winning the game | Photo: Vasanth B H

Light moments after winning a match | Photo: Vasanth B H

Arbiter Vasanth B H interacting with the parents | Photo: Vasanth B H

Article edited by Shahid Ahmed

Contact Us