chessbase india logo

Abhimanyu, Varshini and Indian team Golden at Asian University 2021

by Shahid Ahmed - 24/09/2021

WGM V Varshini scored an unbeaten 7.5/9 to win Asian University Women's Championship 2021. She finished a half point ahead of the competition. Her win ensured the Indian Women's team winning a Gold too. The three remaining team members were - WGM Srija Seshadri, WIM Arpita Mukherjee and WIM P Michelle Catherina. GM Abhimanyu Puranik won the Asian University Men's Championship 2021 by scoring 7.5/9 and also finishing a half point ahead of the rest. His triumph also ensured another Gold for the Indian men. The other three members were - GM Arjun Kalyan, GM Karthik Venkataraman and IM Harikrishnan A Ra. Photo: Rupali Mullick and Shahid Ahmed

Four Golds for India

GM Abhimanyu Puranik, WGM V Varshini won the Men's and Women's section individually. They were also instrumental in the Indian Men's and Women's team clinching Gold at the same event. The entire tournament was played online on Tornelo. The women's event took place between 3rd and 5th September, the men's event was held from 10th to 12th September 2021.

Champion in Men - GM Abhimanyu Puranik 7.5/9 | Photo: Rupali Mullick

Champion in Women - WGM Varshini V 7.5/9 | Photo: Shahid Ahmed

Abhimanyu lost the third round game against IM Taher Yoseph Theolifus (INA). Then he made 4.5/5 to head into the final round sharing the lead with Liu Chang (CHN). Since he had already defeated Chang in the very first round, a win in the final round against IM Uurtsaikh Agibileg (MGL) cemented Abhimanyu's first place finish.

Abhimanyu finished the tournament with a hat-trick

Varshini made a draw in the second round against WFM Batsaikhan Orgonsuvd (MGL). She gained sole lead 6.0/7 by defeating WIM Vesal Hamedi Nia (IRI) in the seventh round. She needed only a draw in the final round to become champion and that's exactly what she did.

The tournament was an individual, however same team members were not allowed to be paired against each other. Team results were calculated based on total scores of top four players in a team.

Men's Team

The Indian Men's Team comprised of GM Abhimanyu Puranik, GM Arjun Kalyan, GM Karthik Venkataraman and IM Harikrishnan A Ra. The team scored 24.0/36 to clinch Gold.

GM Abhimanyu Puranik 7.5/9 | Photo: Rupali Mullick

GM Arjun Kalyan 6.0/9

GM Karthik Venkataraman 5.5/9 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

IM Harikrishnan A Ra 5.0/9 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Women's Team

The Indian Women's team members were - WGM V Varshini, WGM Srija Seshadri, WIM Arpita Mukherjee and WIM P Michelle Catherina. The team scored 25.5/36.

WGM V Varshini 7.5/9 | Photo: Amruta Mokal

WGM Srija Seshadri 6.5/9

WIM Arpita Mukherjee 6.5/9 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

WIM P Michelle Catherina 5.0/9 | Photo: Niklesh Jain

Replay all games of Men's section

Replay all games of Women's section

Final Standings in Men

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
GMPURANIK AbhimanyuIND24407,50,0747,051,542,75
IMYEOH Li TianMAS23457,00,0741,044,533,50
LIU Chang(Sd)CHN19816,50,0646,548,532,75
IMMOUSAVI Seyed KhalilIRI24046,50,0546,550,534,25
IMCHEN Qi BCHN23596,50,0545,049,533,75
IMARJUN KalyanIND23346,00,0643,547,028,50
IMALI Muhammad LutfiINA23676,00,0640,542,526,00
IMTAHER Yoseph TheolifusINA22956,00,0546,049,030,00
IMJAVANBAKHT NimaIRI23815,50,0548,053,029,75
GHOLAMI ORIMI MahdiIRI21625,50,0543,046,025,75


Final standings in Men Team

1GM PURANIK, Abhimanyu7,50,0747,051,542,75
2IM ARJUN, Kalyan6,00,0643,547,028,50
3GM KARTHIK, Venkataraman5,50,0540,043,023,75
4IM HARIKRISHNAN.A.RA,5,00,0442,044,523,25
1IM MOUSAVI, Seyed Khalil6,50,0546,550,534,25
2GHOLAMI ORIMI, Mahdi5,50,0543,046,025,75
3IM KHODASHENAS, Mersad5,50,0443,547,027,50
4FM KASHEFI, Amir Hosein5,00,0444,047,024,50
1IM YEOH, Li Tian7,00,0741,044,533,50
2FM TEH, Eu Wen Aron5,50,0438,540,518,75
3AHMAD NAZARI, Emir Rusyaidi5,00,0542,045,019,00
4SIVANESAN, Subramanian4,50,0437,540,014,75


Final standings in Women

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
WGMVARSHINI VIND18787,50,0646,5
GHANE SafouraIRI16667,00,0643,0
WFMAZALI TannazIRI17666,50,0645,5
WGMSRIJA SeshadriIND20876,50,0644,5
WIMARPITA MukherjeeIND18376,50,0640,5
WFMTAN Li TingMAS18696,01,5545,5
WIMGHOLAMI ORIMI AnahitaIRI17596,01,0439,0
WFMFARUQ Afifa AyyunINA16846,00,5543,5
WIMFISABILILLAH UmmiINA21825,50,0546,5
WCMNITHYALAKSHMI SivanesanMAS17965,50,0546,5


Final standings in Women Team

1WGM VARSHINI, V7,50,0646,551,042,50
2WGM SRIJA, Seshadri6,50,0644,548,533,25
3WIM ARPITA, Mukherjee6,50,0640,542,529,00
4WIM MICHELLE CATHERINA, P5,00,0441,545,522,75
1GHANE, Safoura7,00,0643,046,536,75
2WFM AZALI, Tannaz6,50,0645,546,030,25
3WIM GHOLAMI ORIMI, Anahita6,01,0439,041,025,75
4WIM HAMEDI NIA, Vesal5,50,0542,045,023,75
1WFM TAN, Li Ting6,01,5545,549,531,75
2WCM NITHYALAKSHMI, Sivanesan5,50,0546,548,525,75
3WIM AZHAR, Puteri Munajjah Az-Zahraa5,00,0537,540,020,50
4WFM AZHAR, Puteri Rifqah Fahada4,50,0437,541,018,00



Source: Men and Women