chessbase india logo

Delhi 2018 Round 10: Arkadij Naiditsch romps to the finish line!

by Sagar Shah - 17/01/2018

When the 2700+ rated Azeri GM confirmed his participation for the Delhi International 2018, questions arose whether he would be able to win the tournament or not. With the under-rated Indian players, it was not going to be easy. However, Naiditsch showed to the world that he was a class apart as he easily won the tournament with 8.5/10. He paced himself in exemplary style and was never in danger of being pushed behind. Ziaur Rahman finished second and Nubairshah Shaikh was third. The C-category was won by Anirudh Jain. We bring you the final round report along with some pictures of the prize giving ceremony.

If the Delhi International 2018 was a 10-kilometre run, then Arkadij Naiditsch zoomed past everyone is the first 8 kilometres and then walked his way to the finish line in the last two. The Azeri GM seemed simply in control of everything during the tournament and scored a clinical 8.5/10 (with draws against Ratnakaran, Akash PC Iyer and Alberto David).

The final round clash between Naiditsch and Alberto David ended in a quick draw. Naiditsch was happy with a draw, because even if Ziaur won, the Azeri GM would win the event due to direct encounter being the first tiebreak.

And you thought chess was a game played between two players!

The five wins from rounds four to eight ensured Naiditsch's victory at the event
Immediately after his game we caught up with Naiditsch and asked him about his experience of playing in India, his two victories over Magnus Carlsen and what he feels about Vishy Anand becoming the World Rapid Champion at 48.

Karthikeyan Murali and Ziaur Rahman fought very hard, but the game ended in a draw

For Ziaur Rahman this was one of the most important performances of his chess career. Not only did he finish second and took home Rs. 4,00,000, but he also gained 31 Elo points. This means that he is back into the 2500 league! A place where he deserves to be.

The find of the tournament was Nubairshah Shaikh who scored 8.0/10, earned his maiden GM norm and also finished third

Nubair's tournament was already very successful after he had achieved his GM norm in nine rounds. Hence, he offered his opponent Vignesh a draw after just three moves. But Vignesh was in a fighting mood and went for a full-blooded fight. Nubair played a model game in the Caro Kann and won the game in style. First have a look at the game on our replayable board and then listen to the lad analyze the game.

Nubairshah Shaikh analyzes his tenth round win against Vignesh

Top three winners of the tournament with Bharat Singh Chauhan - Arkadij Naiditsch (centre), Ziaur Rahman (left) and Nubairshah Shaikh (right)

Adam Horvath beat Akash PC Iyer in the final round and finished fourth

The closing ceremony was attended in huge numbers by the participants!

David Llada had his work cut out, but he had a few assistants!

Tania Sachdev was the special guest at the event!

Selfie requests abounded in plenty!
ChessBase India caught up with Tania to speak about the Delhi International 2018, her role at the Gibraltar Chess Festival and how chess can make it to the Olympics

Mary Ann Gomes scored 6.5/10 and won the best woman player prize

Karthikeyan Murali (left) finished fifth, Harsha Bharathakoti and Nubairshah Shaikh

Two Delhi youngsters IM Rishi Sardana (left) and GM Vaibhav Suri. Vaibhav finished sixth.

The two IM norm scorers at the event - Sammed Shete and Koustav Chatterjee

Akash Iyer made his maiden GM norm at the event along with IM Nubairshah Shaikh

Nurtr supported the tournament in a big way by sponsoring Rs. 21 lakh

Two pillars of the tournament Gopakumar Sudhakaran and A.K. Verma with the majestic trophies



Results in round 10

Bo.No. NameRtgPts.ResultPts.NameRtg No.
11GMNaiditsch Arkadij27018½ - ½7GMDavid Alberto255312
28GMKarthikeyan Murali25807½ - ½GMRahman Ziaur247223
321GMHorvath Adam248471 - 07Akash Pc Iyer241535
428IMKhusenkhojaev Muhammad24627½ - ½7GMDeviatkin Andrei247124
526IMVignesh N R247070 - 17IMMohammad Nubairshah Shaikh238042
629GMCzebe Attila24581 - 0GMSengupta Deep25866
77GMTiviakov Sergei25841 - 0GMDzhumaev Marat243432
871Koustav Chatterjee22880 - 1GMTukhaev Adam257010
913GMSivuk Vitaly25500 - 1IMHarsha Bharathakoti245130
1016GMVaibhav Suri25421 - 0IMDhulipalla Bala Chandra Prasad231360


Final Ranking after 10 Rounds

Rk.SNo NamesexFEDRtgPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
GMNaiditsch ArkadijAZE27018,50,064,069,5
GMRahman ZiaurBAN24728,00,061,566,5
IMMohammad Nubairshah ShaikhIND23808,00,060,564,5
GMHorvath AdamHUN24848,00,054,058,5
GMKarthikeyan MuraliIND25807,50,062,067,0
GMVaibhav SuriIND25427,50,061,065,5
GMTiviakov SergeiNED25847,50,060,065,0
GMDavid AlbertoITA25537,50,060,064,0
GMDeepan Chakkravarthy J.IND24757,50,056,560,5
GMTukhaev AdamUKR25707,50,054,559,0
GMDeviatkin AndreiRUS24717,50,054,058,0
IMKhusenkhojaev MuhammadTJK24627,50,053,057,5
IMHarsha BharathakotiIND24517,50,050,554,5
GMCzebe AttilaHUN24587,50,049,053,5
GMAmonatov FarrukhTJK26367,00,058,562,5
Akash Pc IyerIND24157,00,058,062,5
GMPruijssers RoelandNED25367,00,057,062,0
GMRozum IvanRUS25957,00,057,061,0
GMGupta AbhijeetIND26107,00,056,560,5
IMVignesh N RIND24707,00,056,560,5

Category C

Category C witnessed huge number of entries - 1273 to be precise. If you do open the chess-results page you have to just keep scrolling! This shows that there are a lot of amateur players in India and having good prize money events can attract them to play. The total prize fund was Rs.25,00,000 and the first prize was Rs.2,50,000 followed by Rs.2,00,000 and 1,50,000.

The top three winners of the C group were Anirudh Jain (centre), Devi Das Suresh Pai (right) and Ravindra P

Proud coach Prasenjit Dutta holds the trophy with Anirudh

Anirudh played very consistently scoring 9.5/10 and gaining over 100 Elo points

Final Ranking after 10 Rounds

Rk.SNoNameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3 
15Anirudh JainU15IND1590Del9,50,064,068,0
275Devi Das Suresh PaiIND1534Kar9,00,064,069,0
3245Ravindra PIND1457AP9,00,064,068,0
4302Kesavan GIND1426TN9,00,063,567,0
51Mohit Kumar SoniIND1599Bih9,00,062,066,5
646Sanjib MaliIND1553Wes9,00,059,064,0
7218Piyush KhuranaIND1466Har8,50,059,563,5
886Rohit SIND1527Pon8,50,059,064,0
956Raghunandan RohitIND1546MP8,50,059,062,0
10108Vinay GadpayleIND1515Chh8,50,057,562,5
1130Uttam Prakash SharmaU15IND1562Har8,50,056,561,5
12329Darji Javahar HIND1416Guj8,00,065,568,5
1357Ram Kumar RIND1546AP8,00,065,070,0
14369Chodasita RamanjineyuluIND1391AP8,00,065,066,5
1578Vaishant Kumar GangwaniIND1533Har8,00,063,565,5
161187Satyam PratapIND0Bih8,00,061,064,5
17362Satvik SharmaU15IND1394Del8,00,061,064,5
18166Nagargoje DhananjayIND1488Mah8,00,060,564,5
196Solanki RutvikIND1587Guj8,00,060,065,0
20195Vangala PrashanthIND1476AP8,00,059,062,5

Contact Us