chessbase india logo

Ajay maintains sole lead and Divya becomes champion with a round to spare in National Sub-Junior 2018

by Shahid Ahmed - 25/07/2018

Ajay Karthikeyan of Tamil Nadu continues his dream run and maintains half point lead heading into the final round. He will face the defending champion Sankalp Gupta in the last round of the tournament. In the girls section, Divya Deshmukh won the National Championship for second year in a row and this time with a round to spare. While the open category is still open for anyone to win, in the girls category there is a close fight for second position as eight girls are at 7.5 points each, followed by five girls at 7. We bring you games, positions and photographs from round 8 and 9 of the 44th National Sub-Junior Open and 35th National Sub Junior Girls 2018. Photos: Swati Biswas

Ajay Karthikeyan stays ahead of the pack and Divya Deshmukh emphatically wins National Sub-Junior for second consecutive year

Little did they know that photograph is not the only thing they have to share in the penultimate round | Photo: Swati Biswas

Both Utsab and Ajay tried to push to gain the upper hand, but no one budged to give any chance to their opponent in Sicilian Maroczy Bind.

Sankalp and Aronyak made a quick draw | Photo: Swati Biswas

Sankalp and Aronyak made a threefold repetition in 30 moves in a seemingly equal position arising out of Caro-Kann Advance variation.

Top seed Koustav Chatterjee got the better of Soham Kamotra | Photo: Swati Biswas

Koustav maximized Soham's mistake by playing the correct continuation here. Find out how.

L Srihari made quick work of Shuban Saha in just 29 moves in English Opening | Photo: Swati Biswas

Shuban played 21...Ng5. Find out how did Srihari capitalize here.

Birthday girl Bristy Mukherjee did not get the gift she wanted as her opponent, defending champion Divya provided stiff competition | Photo: Swati Biswas

Despite getting an early opportunity to capitalize against Divya, Bristy was unable to seize it and eventually fell into tactical error after she tried to equalize pawns using tactics.

Bristy failed to capitalize an early opportunity when she played 15.c3. What did she miss?

Salonika managed to beat Adane but she survived a scare when Adane missed a golden opportunity as she played here 32...gxf2. Can you find the correct continuation here for Black?

Poorna Sri M K of Tamil Nadu defeated Bhagyashree Patil of Maharashtra with a devastating attack in Sicilian Najdorf

Ajay and Divya win their respective matches and get into sole lead at the conclusion of round 9

Ajay made a quick work of Soham when he found the correct idea here. Can you find it?

Divya played the correct move and she managed to win it. Can you find the best continuation for white here?

Photo Gallery:

The Arbiters's team | Photo: Swati Biswas

Birthday girl Bristy Mukherjee with IA Rajendra Shidore and IA Debasish Barua | Photo: Swati Biswas

The tournament hall | Photo: Swati Biswas

The place is full of greenery... | Photo: Swati Biswas

...where the parents wait for their ward happily | Photo: Swati Biswas

Top board results in open category

Round 10 on 2018/07/24 at 11:00 AM

111Utsab Chatterjee2094½ - ½8Ajay Karthikeyan209410
22Sankalp Gupta2341½ - ½CMAronyak Ghosh23103
312Soham Kamotra206570 - 17Koustav Chatterjee23831
422Srihari L192771 - 07Shuban Saha196615
537Jayachandra Srinivas Vellanki18407½ - ½CMMendonca Leon Luke22417
64CMKushagra Mohan23091 - 0Jagadish P186733
730Esshan Wadhawan1877½ - ½Harshavardhan G B21948
835Ayush Sharma1847½ - ½Arpan Das (Jr)198113
939Yutesh P1824½ - ½Mehta Naitik R196017
1041Karthik Sai Ch18101 - 0Sanjay D G192123

Top board results in Girls category

Round 10 on 2018/07/24 at 11.00 AM

19WCMBristy Mukherjee176870 - 18WFMDivya Deshmukh22031
25WCMJyothsna L19237½ - ½7WCMMrudul Dehankar20933
312WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya17347½ - ½7Meenatchi Rajam V156029
42WFMSalonika Saina21131 - 0Adane Narayani172613
515Poorna Sri M.K17151 - 0Bhagyashree Patil18366
616Routray Priyanka16830 - 1Eesha Ajay Sarda18307
717Achaya Vijayan16760 - 1WFMLakshmi C18058
84WCMJain Nityata194561 - 06WCMChinnam Vyshnavi157726
922Mehendi Sil160161 - 06Savitha Shri B174211
1024Sudipa Haldar158961 - 06Nanditha V172614

Final round pairings in open category

Round 11 on 2018/07/25 at 10:00AM

110Ajay Karthikeyan20948Sankalp Gupta23412
222Srihari L192788Utsab Chatterjee209411
31Koustav Chatterjee23838CMKushagra Mohan23094
43CMAronyak Ghosh23108Jayachandra Srinivas Vellanki184037
566Atri Chattopadhyay1681Karthik Sai Ch181041
657Tanmay Chopra17327Moksh Amit Doshi22616
732Jain Kashish Manoj186877Raahul V S22925
87CMMendonca Leon Luke224177AGMRathneesh R194819
98Harshavardhan G B219477Ayush Sharma184735
1059Samdani Sahil Sagar171377Soham Kamotra206512

Final round pairings in girls category

Round 11 on 2018/07/25 at 10.00 AM

11WFMDivya Deshmukh22039Poorna Sri M.K171515
23WCMMrudul Dehankar2093WFMSalonika Saina21132
37Eesha Ajay Sarda1830WCMJyothsna L19235
48WFMLakshmi C1805WFMBommini Mounika Akshaya173412
529Meenatchi Rajam V15607Mehendi Sil160122
64WCMJain Nityata194577Sudipa Haldar158924
718Arushi Kotwal166277WCMBristy Mukherjee17689
86Bhagyashree Patil1836Diya Chowdhury157128
913Adane Narayani1726Kritika Pal154630
1040Nayanikaa Muralidharan1451Routray Priyanka168316


Related news:

Sankalp, Ajay, Utsab, Soham and Divya lead after round 8 in 44th National Sub-Junior 2018

Contact Us