chessbase india logo

Sauravh Kherdekar wins 2nd Holi Cup 2018

by Vikas Sahu - 12/04/2018
Sauravh Kherdekar of Railways won the 2nd edition of the Holi Cup Lakecity Open Rated Tournament which was organized by chess in lakecity under the aegis of All Rajputana Chess Association and All India Chess Federation. The event was held at Bhandari Darshak Mandap, Chetak Circle, Udaipur. 40 years old FM Sauravh Kherdekar remained undefeated, scored 7.5/8 and became champion in a very convincing manner. Top seed of the event IM Rahul Sangma scored 7.0/8 and finished 3rd. Vikas Sahu, who is the secretary of Chess in Lakecity, sends us a detailed summary of what happened at the event.

Dubbed as "the most romantic spot on the continent of India" by British administrator James Tod, Udaipur which is known for its history, culture, scenic locations and the Rajput-era palaces is one of the most popular tourist destination in India. It is also popularly known as the "City of Lakes" or the "Kashmir of Rajasthan". For the visitor there's the tranquillity of boat rides on the lake, the bustle and colour of ancient bazaars, a lively arts scene, the quaint old-world feel of its better hotels, endless tempting shops and some lovely countryside to explore on wheels, feet or horseback.

Built over a period of 400 years! City Palace, Udaipur | Photo: Holidify

Jag Niwas(Lake Palace) in Lake Pichola | Photo :

Couple of weeks ago we saw something very refreshing and unique! Big hoardings of India's chess superstar GM Baskaran Adhiban at some of the busiest junctions in Udaipur!

One of the most loved chess superstar of India | Photo : Vikas Sahu

A very nice initiative to make chess more popular in the city | Photo : Vikas Sahu

The Mayor of Udaipur City Shri. Chandra Singh Kothari inaugurating the event along with GM Adhiban | Photo : Vikas Sahu

GM Adhiban was there in the beautiful city to inaugurate the 2nd Holi Cup Lakecity FIDE Rating tournament along with Shri. Chandra Singh Kothari, Mayor, Udaipur City . The event attracted 498 players from 16 different states and also 2 players from USA and Scotland respectively. Altogether there were 317 fide rated players and 4 titled players. It was a 4-day event which started on 29th March and lasted until the 1st April.


In the penultimate round FM Saurabh Kherdekar of Railways beat his joint leader Prakash Ram of Punjab to take the sole lead with 7 points and in the last round Saurabh and Santu Mondal of Delhi agreed to split the point in a queen ending which aroused from the Dutch Defense, with this half point Saurabh Kherdekar won the tournament with 7.5 points out of possible 8. Santu Mondal of Delhi and IM Rahul Sangma of Railways scored 7.0/8 and had to settle for the 2nd and 3rd spots respectively on the basis of tie-breaks.

FM Saurabh Kherdekar is the Champion of the 2nd edition! | Photo : Vikas Sahu

Mr. Rajeev Bharadwaj was the tournament director and the Arbiters team was lead by IA Swapnil Bansod, Chief Arbiter and IA Rajendra Teli was the Dy. Chief and they were assisted by FA Mohd. Mehmood, myelf, SNA Manish Chandalia, SNA  Roopak Arora, and SNA Raghvendra Kumar Shukla. The Arbiters were very much competent and reacted in every condition with equipped technical knowledge.


This event was a huge success with an excellent arrangement for venue, accommodation, food etc. The players and the managers were very much co-operative and it was concluded without a single dispute.

The prize distribution ceremony with MD Hotel Radisson Blue, Ms. Swati Agarwal | Photo : Vikas Sahu

The prize distribution ceremony was organized in a grand manner at the hands of Ms. Swati Agarwal, MD Hotel Radisson Blue, other guests present were Dr. Om Sahu, VP Chess in Lakecity, Mr.Shatrudhan Bandwal, President Buddhibal Seva sansthan, Shri Prem Singh Shaktawat, Secretary BJP Udaipur, Mr. Aditya Shah, CEO G D Goenka, Mr. Rajeev Bhardwaj, President Chess in Lakecity, IA Swapnil Bansod, Chief Arbiter and myself.

Final Ranking after 8 Rounds

Rk.SNo NameTypsexFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1  TB2  TB3  TB4  TB5 
12FMSauravh KhherdekarIND2222RLY7,50,043,047,043,507
27Santu MondalIND2116DEL7,00,044,048,040,756
31IMSangma RahulIND2296RLY7,00,042,546,539,506
414Sumit GroverIND1942JK7,00,040,544,037,506
55Deepak KatiyarIND2140RAJ7,00,040,044,037,506
63Prakash RamIND2192PUN7,00,039,543,536,007
76Boricha KetanIND2116MAH7,00,039,043,037,256
819Rathore SonakshiwIND1833RAJ7,00,039,042,535,007
948Akash TiwariIND1699WB7,00,038,041,534,507
108Samrat GhoraiIND2085WB7,00,037,540,533,756
1115Trivedi Karan RIND1909GUJ6,50,040,045,035,006
1237Bhagyashree PatilF13wIND1734MAH6,50,040,044,534,505
1333Chudasama AnkitIND1755GUJ6,50,039,042,032,256
1411Punit IndoraIND1983HAR6,50,036,039,030,756
1524Rahul KumarIND1794BIH6,50,035,538,531,006
1638Falgun D PurohitIND1733GUJ6,50,035,038,531,255
1710Kant RupeshIND1987MP6,50,035,038,529,756
189Maulik RavalIND1995GUJ6,00,042,546,532,505
1949AFMPawar HarshitU11IND1697DEL6,00,041,545,532,005
204IMRamnathan BalasubramaniamIND2184TN6,00,040,544,531,505


About the Author

Vikas Sahu is a FIDE Arbiter and National Instructor, and also the secretary of Chess in Lakecity. You can reach him at 9413045606/ 9829476158 . For more details, do visit:

Contact Us