chessbase india logo
Hindi News



The Strongest Open in Indian History is a part of the ACP Tour

by ChessBase India - 10 July 2017

The ChessMine Rapid Tournament will be the strongest Open tournament in Indian chess history. The ACP Tour is a unique system of tournaments held throughout the world. Only the most significant international competitions and the strongest national leagues are given this status. The total prize fund of the Rapid tourney is Rs. 4,50,000. with rating category and special prizes included. Forty-fifty Grand Masters and International Masters will be battling it out in the tournament. And the top seed is India No. 3 Vidit Gujrathi, rated 2718 in Rapid.

The Strongest Open in Indian History is a part of the ACP Tour



The Association of Chess Professionals (ACP) is a non-profit organization which aims to protect the rights of professional chess players', address their concerns and to promote chess worldwide through the organization of high-level chess tournaments and maintaining a ranking system of the top professionals (The ACP Tour). At the summer of 2015, the ACP united about 1100 chess professionals (International Masters, Grand Masters, International Arbiters and Organisers) from 85 countries. Most of the World's top players, including the previous World Champion Vishwanathan Anand can be found among the ACP members.


The ACP Tour is a unique system that unites more than 100 international chess tournaments annually all over the world.The main idea of the ACP Tour is to encompass the most important chess tournaments regardless of their format in a unified 12-month season. Participants in the events receive points according to the rating system developed by the ACP.

Only the most significant international competitions and the strongest national leagues are involved in the ACP Tour. 

The first ACP-Tour started on 1 July 2004 and ended 30 June 2005. India's very own Viswanathan Anand was the champion of the first edition. 

ACP Members from India

Benefits of the ACP Tour

ChessMine Rapid Rated Tournament is the Strongest Open in Indian History

The ChessMine Rapid Tournament from August 5-7 (3 days) is a part of the ACP Tour. It promises to be the strongest Open tournament in Indian history. The total prize fund of the Rapid tourney is Rs. 4,50,000 with rating category and special prizes included.

India No. 3 GM Vidit Gujrathi (Elo 2693, Rapid: 2718)


Former Asian Champion and one of the strongest players in India today, GM S.P. Sethuraman (Elo 2625)

Former World Junior Champion and one of the strongest Open tournament player of India--GM Abhijeet Gupta (2625)

Are you rated below 2000 and only dream of having a chance to go one on one with 50+ GMs and IMs?


Are you rated 2000+, waiting hungrily for a chance to play a strong open tournament with stars like Vidit Gujrathi, S.P. Sethuraman, Abhijeet Gupta?


Are you an unrated player, too busy to play a long classical tournament, but still have the fire in your belly to take on the best? Or, are you a parent of a young genius who desperately wants the child to play the best quality tournament, against strong and higher rated players so they improve and win medals?


Well, your wait ends on August 5, when the strongest chess tournament in Indian history kicks off in Bengaluru.


Register today at the special Tournament Page brought to you by ChessBase India!

Starting List

No.   Name FideID FED Rtg
1 GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi 5029465 IND 2692
2 GM Gupta Abhijeet 5010608 IND 2625
3 GM Sethuraman S.P. 5021596 IND 2625
4 GM Sengupta Deep 5008352 IND 2596
5 GM Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. 5072786 IND 2593
6 GM Karthikeyan Murali 5074452 IND 2582
7 GM Gopal G.N. 5015693 IND 2580
8 GM Debashis Das 5024854 IND 2565
9 IM Narayanan Srinath 5018420 IND 2505
10 GM Kunte Abhijit 5002265 IND 2504
11 IM Stany G.A. 5029104 IND 2489
12 GM Grover Sahaj 5021103 IND 2485
13 IM Thejkumar M. S. 5009154 IND 2484
14 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 5011132 IND 2480
15 IM Puranik Abhimanyu 5061245 IND 2479
16 GM Gagare Shardul 5037883 IND 2472
17 FM Nihal Sarin 25092340 IND 2471
18 IM Shyaamnikhil P 5024218 IND 2456
19 GM Neelotpal Das 5003512 IND 2438
20 IM Nitin S. 5018277 IND 2427
21 GM Laxman R.R. 5005361 IND 2421
22 IM Rohan Ahuja 5090598 IND 2414
23 IM Raghunandan Kaumandur Srihari 25004964 IND 2410
24 IM Satyapragyan Swayangsu 5004306 IND 2410
25 IM Tania Sachdev 5007844 IND 2408
26 IM Viani Antonio Dcunha 5027330 IND 2408
27 IM Abhishek Kelkar 5019257 IND 2403
28 IM Girish A. Koushik 5038448 IND 2401
29 IM Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh 5053196 IND 2392
30 IM Sagar Shah 5022509 IND 2391
31 IM Anwesh Upadhyaya 5028949 IND 2385
32 IM Krishna C R G 5018625 IND 2382
33 IM Ravi Teja S. 5017220 IND 2379
34 IM Rathnakaran K. 5005507 IND 2378
35 GM Sriram Jha 5001668 IND 2375
36 FM Sai Krishna G V 5028280 IND 2369
37   Saravana Krishnan P. 5018382 IND 2350
38 WGM Soumya Swaminathan 5016193 IND 2349
39 WIM Aakanksha Hagawane 25014510 IND 2334
40 WGM Gomes Mary Ann 5013623 IND 2327
41 IM Sharma Dinesh K. 5004110 IND 2279
42 WIM Nandhidhaa Pv 5050847 IND 2249
43 WIM Gagare Shalmali 5038650 IND 2067
44 AGM Krishnater Kushager 25041142 IND 2065
45   Harini S. 5024919 IND 2000
46 AGM Sa Kannan 5018340 IND 1949
47 AGM Shahid Ahmed S.K. 5017378 IND 1851
48   Arhan Chethan Anand 45062510 IND 1460
49   Abhinandan 46698108 IND 1442
50   Rajinesh Chintala 45065357 IND 1390
51   Varun B S 35073966 IND 1233
52   Vijay Chandran Bala 25654969 IND 1205
53   Vikas Saini 25713035 IND 1174
54 AFM Subramanian Ashwin 366130254 FID 0
55   Anjana Ashwin   IND 0
56   Tejas Chitnis   IND 0


For more information, visit:

Sharing statistics:

Share on: